Paul Robinson certainly appears to agree with the large majority of Leeds United fans that Trent Alexander-Arnold should have been penalised for handball before Liverpool’s opening goal at Elland Road on Monday.

What chance do we have, honestly?

Yes, of course, the mistake from Junior Firpo was extremely poor, with the left-back giving away possession in a dangerous position before Trent Alexander-Arnold ran through and set up Cody Gakpo for the opening goal.

Lineker Alexander-Arnold
Photo by Robbie Jay Barratt – AMA/Getty Images

However, replays showed that the ball went straight into Alexander-Arnold’s arm. He was hit from close distance. But there is no question that the right-back raised his arm to gain possession and get the opportunity to run through.

Robinson reacts to Alexander-Arnold controversy

It took one replay for Alexander-Arnold’s handball to become abundantly clear. However, the VAR decided that he somehow saw nothing wrong with the goal and allowed the referee to start the game again.

Lineker Alexander-Arnold
Photo by Naomi Baker/Getty Images

It was baffling decision. And it proved extremely costly as Leeds were opened up again shortly after with Weston McKennie losing possession. Mo Salah made the most of some more questionable goalkeeping from Illan Meslier to double the visitors’ lead.

Every team has been cost points by awful VAR decisions this season. But it is still hard to believe it when a blatant handball somehow goes unpunished.

And Robinson insisted that he was left in disbelief by the goal being awarded.

“It was a clear handball and when you watch it it’s a clear handball. Trent puts his arm out and hits it forward,” he told BBC.

“It’s a great one-two round Firpo, which is an area they’ve targeted tonight.

“But it’s a clear handball.”

It is so frustrating. Leeds had a clear game-plan which was largely working for most of the first-half.

Firpo absolutely made a terrible error to allow Alexander-Arnold in. But it is just handball.

And you can absolutely guarantee that had Rasmus Kristensen won possession with his arm before setting up Rodrigo to score past Liverpool, the goal would have been ruled out with one check.

Still, an apology from the PGMOL will make everyone feel better, right?

Related Topics

Have something to tell us about this article?
Let us know